The Kabras Clans

PeopleThe Kabras Clans
- Advertisement -

The Kabras Clans speak Lukabarasi and occupy the northern part of Kakamega district. The Kabras were originally Banyala. They reside principally in Malava, in Kabras Division of Kakamega district. The Kabras (or Kabarasi, Kavalasi and Kabalasi) are sandwiched by the IsukhaBanyala and the Tachoni.

The name “Kabras” comes from Avalasi which means ‘Warriors’ or ‘Mighty Hunters.’ They were fierce warriors who fought with the neighbouring Nandi for cattle and were known to be fearless. This explains why they are generally fewer in number compared to other Luhya tribes such as the Maragoli and Bukusu.

They claim to be descendants of Nangwiro associated with the Biblical Nimrod. The Kabras dialect sounds like the Tachoni dialect. Kabras clans include the Abamutama, Basonje, Abakhusia, Bamachina, Abashu, Abamutsembi, Baluu, Batobo, Bachetsi and Bamakangala. They were named after the heads of the families.

The Kabras were under the rulership of Nabongo Mumia of the Wanga and were represented by an elder in his Council of Elders. The last known elder was Soita Libukana Samaramarami of Lwichi village, Central Kabras, near Chegulo market. When the Quaker missionaries spread to Kabras they established the Friends Church (Quakers) through a missionary by the name of Arthur Chilson, who had started the church in Kaimosi, in Tiriki. He earned a local name, Shikanga, and his children learned to speak Kabras as they lived and interacted with the local children.

Here is a List of The Kabras Clans

  • Abanzasi (Bakamulamba)
  • Abashisira,
  • Avatali,
  • Abawande,
  • Abamutama,
  • Basonje,
  • Abashibika,
  • Abakhusia,
  • Bamachina,
  • Abashu,
  • Abamutsembi,
  • Abasumira,
  • Baluu,
  • Batobo,
  • Bachetsi,
  • Bamakangala
- Advertisement -

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Must Read