List of Political Parties August 2017 General Election in Kenya

NewsPoliticsList of Political Parties August 2017 General Election in Kenya
- Advertisement -

The Kenya African National Union (KANU) dominated Kenyan politics from its founding in 1960 until the early 21st century. List of Political Parties August 2017 General Election. Its early principal opposition, the Kenya African Democratic Union (KADU), merged with KANU in 1964. Since Kenya’s transformation from single-party KANU rule back into a multiparty state in the early 1990s, many political parties have been created and alliances between parties have been formed, often in advance of upcoming elections. Major parties include the Orange Democratic Movement, The National Alliance, United Republican Party, Wiper Democratic Movement, the Forum for the Restoration of Democracy–Kenya, United Democratic Forum Party, and KANU.

In 1997 a woman, representing the Social Democratic Party, ran for president—a first for Kenya—and received almost 8 percent of the vote. However, at the legislative level, women constituted less than 10 percent of the National Assembly in the early 21st century. That changed after the 2010 constitution came into effect, which guaranteed women a certain number of seats in both the Senate and the National Assembly. After the 2013 legislative elections—the first to be held under the terms of the 2010 constitution—women constituted about one-fourth of the Senate and almost one-fifth of the National Assembly. Guaranteed legislative representation of youth, persons with disabilities, and other marginalized groups was also provided for by the constitution.

On March 8th 2017, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) announced that 67 registered political parties and 1 provisionally registered party had submitted their nomination rules for the August 2017 general election.  These political parties are listed below.

  1. Agano Party (AP) 
  2. Alliance for Real Change (ARK)
  3. Alternative Leadership Party of Kenya (ALPK) *
  4. Amani National Congress (ANC) *
  5. Chama Cha Mashinani (CCM) [a]
  6. Chama Cha Uzalendo (CCU)
  7. Chama Mwangaza Daima (CMD) [b]
  8. Citizen Convention Party (CCP) *
  9. Democratic Congress (DC) *
  10. Democratic Party of Kenya (DP) 
  11. Devolution Party of Kenya (DPK) * 
  12. Diligence Development Alliance (DDA) * [c]
  13. Economic Freedom Party (EFP) [d]
  14. Empowerment and Liberation Party (ELP) *
  15. Farmers Party of Kenya (FP)
  16. Federal Party of Kenya (FPK)
  17. Forum For Republican Democracy (FORD) [e]
  18. Forum for Restoration of Democracy – Kenya (FORD – Kenya)
  19. Frontier Alliance Party (FAP) [f]
  20. Green Congress of Kenya (GCK) *
  21. Haki Na Utaifa Party (HUT) * [g]
  22. Jubilee Party (JP) [h]
  23. Justice and Freedom Party of Kenya (JFP) *
  24. Kenya African Democratic Union – Asili (KADU – Asili) 
  25. Kenya African National Union (KANU)
  26. Kenya National Congress (KNC)
  27. Kenya National Democratic Alliance (KENDA)
  28. Kenya Patriots Party (KPP) [i]
  29. Kenya Social Congress (KSC)
  30. Labour Party of Kenya (LPK)
  31. Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) *
  32. Maendeleo Chap Chap Party (MCCP) *
  33. Maendeleo Democratic Party (MDP)
  34. Mazingira Green Party of Kenya (MGPK)
  35. Movement for Democracy and Growth (MDG) *
  36. Muungano Party (MP)
  37. Mzalendo Saba Saba (MSS)
  38. National Rainbow Coalition – Kenya (NARC – Kenya)
  39. National Agenda Party of Kenya (NAPK)
  40. National Democratic Movement (NDM)
  41. National Liberal Party (NLP) *
  42. National Party of Kenya (NPK)
  43. National Rainbow Coalition (NARC)
  44. National Vision Party of Kenya (NVP)
  45. New Democrats (ND)
  46. Orange Democratic Movement (ODM)
  47. Party of Democratic Unity (PDU)
  48. Party of Development and Reforms (PDR) [j]
  49. Party of Independent Candidates of Kenya (PICK)
  50. Party of National Unity (PNU)
  51. People’s Democratic Party (PDP)
  52. People’s Empowerment Party (PEP) [k]
  53. People’s Party of Kenya (PPK)
  54. Peoples Trust Party (PTP) *
  55. Progressive Party of Kenya (PPK)
  56. Republican Liberty Party (RLP)
  57. Restore and Build Kenya Party (RBK)
  58. Roots Party of Kenya (RPK)
  59. Safina
  60. Shirikisho Party of Kenya (SPK)
  61. Sisi Kwa Sisi (SSP)
  62. Social Democratic Party of Kenya (SDP)
  63. Thirdway Alliance Kenya (TAK) *
  64. Ukweli Party (UP) *
  65. United Democratic Movement (UDM)
  66. United Democratic Party (UDP) *
  67. Vibrant Democratic Party (VDP) *
  68. Wiper Movement Kenya (WDM-K)

The National Super Alliance Coalition (NASA)  which is made up of ANC, FORD-Kenya, ODM and WDM-K parties also submitted their nomination rules to IEBC.

* 19 political parties were registered after March 2013 general election
[a] Chama Cha Mashinani (CCM) changed its name from Peoples Patriotic Party of Kenya (PPPK)
[b] Chama Mwangaza Daima (CMD) changed name from Mwangaza Party (MP)
[c] Diligence Development Alliance (DDA) changed name from Double Double Alliance (DDA)
[d] Economic Freedom Party (EFP) changed name from National Labour Party (NLP)
[e] Forum For Republican Democracy (FORD) change of name in progress from Forum For Restoration Of Democracy Asili (FORD – Asili)
[f] Frontier Alliance Party (FAP) changed name from Saba Saba Asili (77)
[g] Haki Na Utaifa Party (HUT) is provisionally registered by the Office of Registrar of Political Parties
[h] Jubilee Party – The Conservative Party (CP) changed its name to Jubilee Alliance Party (JAP) in 2015. JAP changed its name to Jubilee Party (JP) in 2016. The following 10 political parties wound up and joined JAP to form the Jubilee Party: Alliance Party of Kenya (APK), Ford – People, Grand National Union (GNU), New Ford Kenya (NFK), Republican Congress Party of Kenya (RC), The Independent Party (TIP), The National Alliance (TNA), United Democratic Forum Party (UDFP), United Republican Party (URP) and Unity Party of Kenya (UPK)
[i] Kenya Patriots Party (KPP) changed name from Chama Cha Mwananchi (CCM)
[j] Party of Development and Reforms (PDR) changed name from Party of Action (POA)
[k] People’s Empowerment Party (PEP) changed name from Mkenya Solidarity Movement (MSM)
[This information on the changes to the names of political parties is from the website of Office of Registrar of Political Parties]

- Advertisement -

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Must Read