List of Elected MCAs in Garissa County for the 2017 General Elections

A member of the County Assembly (MCA) is an elected representative who is in charge of an electoral unit known as a Ward. The Ward is the smallest electoral (and administrative) unit followed by the Sub-County (or Constituency), the County and finally the Country. List of Elected MCAs in Garissa County for the 2017 General Elections

193. Qualifications for election as member of county assembly

(1) Unless disqualified under clause (2), a person is eligible for election as a member of a county assembly if the person–

(a) is registered as a voter;
(b) satisfies any educational, moral and ethical requirements prescribed by this Constitution or an Act of Parliament; and
(c) is either–

(i) nominated by a political party; or
(ii) an independent candidate supported by at least five hundred registered voters in the ward concerned.

(2) A person is disqualified from being elected a member of a county assembly if the person–

(a) is a State officer or other public officer, other than a member of the county assembly;
(b) has, at any time within the five years immediately before the date of election, held office as a member of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission;
(c) has not been a citizen of Kenya for at least the ten years immediately preceding the date of election;
(d) is of unsound mind;
(e) is an undischarged bankrupt;
(f) is serving a sentence of imprisonment of at least six months; or
(g) has been found, in accordance with any law, to have misused or abused a State office or public office or to have contravened Chapter Six.

(3) A person is not disqualified under clause (2) unless all possibility of appeal or review of the relevant sentence or decision has been exhausted.

Here is a List of Elected MCAs in Garissa County for the 2017 General Elections

Garissa Township
131. Waberi – Mohamed Abass Bulale (The Labour Party of Kenya (LPK))
132. Galbet – Abdirizak Ismail Sheikh (Orange Democratic Movement (ODM))
133. Township – Mohamud Omar Abdullahi (JP)
134. Iftin – Mohamed Gabow Kharbat (JP)

135. Balambala – Adan Abaile Sagar (Party For Development and Reform (PDR))
136. Danyere – Daud Adan Dabar (JP)
137. Jarajara – Suleiman Mohamed Abdullahi (Kenya African National Union (KANU))
138. Saka – Kassim Dagane Hassan (KANU)
139. Sankuri – Farah Maow Bare (ODM)

140. Modogashe – Ali Abdullahi Gure (JP)
141. Benane – Ahmed Mohamed Siyad (Kenya Patriots Party (KPP))
142. Goreale – Abdirahman Mohamed Idris (JP)
143. Maalamin – Mohamud Aden Yarrow (KANU)
144. Sabena – Issa Aden Abdi (JP)
145. Baraki – Hassan Ismail Muhumed (Amani National Congress (ANC))

146. Dertu – Osman Hussein Abdi (JP)
147. Dadaab – Mohamed Abdi Farah (Wiper Democratic Movement – Kenya (WDM-K))
148. Labasigale – Mohamedweli Guhat Dagane (JP)
149. Damajale – Diriye Bare Abdi (WDM-K)
150. Liboi – Hussein Ahmed Bashir (WDM-K)
151. Abakaile – Mohamed Ali Sheikh (ODM)

152. Bura – Abdullahi Omar Aden (PDR)
153. Dekaharia – Yussuf Omar Abdi (PDR)
154. Jarajila – Mahat Osman Ibrahim (JP)
155. Fafi – Hassan Halane Haye (PDR)
156. Nanighi – Hassan Omar Kuno (National Rainbow Coalition-Kenya (NARC-Kenya))

157. Hulugho – Adow Omar Said (ODM)
158. Sangailu – Abdullahi Mohamed Buthul (JP)
159. Ijara – Irshad Hilolle Osman (KANU)
160. Masalani – Abubakar Mohamed Shide (KPP)

Recent Articles

Related Stories