Hello fam In this article, we will show you how to delete and manage your Google location history. We show how to delete all of your location history, and how to delete data only for a selected range or a single day. In most cases, it’s as simple as opening the Google Maps app on your iPhone or Android and going to Settings — but really, it shouldn’t take more than a few clicks. Here’s how to delete and manage your Google location history.
Location History is a Google Account–level setting that saves where you go with every mobile device where:
You’re signed in to your Google Account,
You have turned on Location History, and
The device has Location Reporting turned on.
When you turn on Location History, you may see a number of benefits across Google products and services, including personalized maps, recommendations based on places you’ve visited, help finding your phone, real-time traffic updates about your commute, and more useful ads.
Location History is turned off by default for your Google Account and can only be turned on if you opt in.
You can pause Location History at any time in your Google Account’s Activity controls.
You control what’s saved in your Location History. You can view the places where you’ve been in Google Maps Timeline, and you can edit or delete information through Timeline as well.
To Manage your Location You can turn off Location History for your account at any time. If you use a work or school account, your administrator needs to make this setting available for you. If they do, you’ll be able to use Location History as any other user.
Choose whether your account or your devices can report Location History to Google.
Your account and all devices: At the top, turn Location History on or off.
Only a certain device: Under “This device” or “Devices on this account,” turn the device on or off.
When Location History is on
Google only receives Location History for each device where you are signed in and you have Location Reporting turned on.
You can change the Location Reporting setting for each device where you’re signed in, and limit which devices provide location data to be included in Location History. If you want to change your Location History settings, you can choose to:
Report your location from only some of your devices, but not others.
Report your location from all your devices.
Turn off Location History for your Google Account. Your location won’t be reported from any of your devices and you will not have new Location History recorded to your account.
Your settings for other location services on your device, like Google Location Services and Find My Device, are not changed.
When Location History is off
New location information is no longer saved to your Location History.
At the bottom right, click Settings Automatically delete Location History.
Follow the on-screen instructions.
What happens after you delete some or all Location History
If you delete some or all of your Location History, some personalized experiences across Google may be degraded or lost. For example:
Albums in Google Photos automatically created from places you’ve visited
Recommendations based on places you’ve visited
Real-time information about the best time to leave for home or work in order to beat the traffic
Important: If you have other settings like Web & App Activity turned on and you pause Location History or delete location data from Location History, you may still have location data saved in your Google Account as part of your use of other Google sites, apps, and services. For example, location data may be saved as part of activity on Search and Maps when your Web & App Activity setting is on, and included in your photos depending on your camera app settings.
Usage & diagnostics for Location History
When you turn on Location History, your device may send diagnostic information to Google about what’s working and not working for Location History. If you turn Location History off, you can decide whether to share usage and diagnostics information.
Manage your history of the places you’ve been and the routes you’ve traveled: Learn how to edit your timeline on Google Maps.
Here’s how you do this on iPhone and Android. First, go to Google Maps > Account Circle > Your Timeline > More > Settings (Settings and Privacy for Android) > Location History Settings. You then need to tap Location History so that the blue slider switches off. Manage your Location
This stops Google Maps from saving visited locations to your timeline. However, it doesn’t stop Google Maps from tracking your movements. To do this, you’ll need to turn Location Services off. You can do this by going to Google Maps > Account Circle >
Am a Kenyan Based Politician, Senior blogger, Digital Communications expert, YouTuber, Pan Africanist, columnist, Human Rights Activist, informer & businessman. Contact me on +254791890826 or Email Me on email@example.com