List of Elected MCAs in Nyeri County for the 2017 General Elections

NewsPoliticsList of Elected MCAs in Nyeri County for the 2017 General Elections
- Advertisement -

A member of the County Assembly (MCA) is an elected representative who is in charge of an electoral unit known as a Ward. The Ward is the smallest electoral (and administrative) unit followed by the Sub-County (or Constituency), the County and finally the Country. List of Elected MCAs in Nyeri County for the 2017 General Elections

193. Qualifications for election as member of county assembly

(1) Unless disqualified under clause (2), a person is eligible for election as a member of a county assembly if the person–

(a) is registered as a voter;
(b) satisfies any educational, moral and ethical requirements prescribed by this Constitution or an Act of Parliament; and
(c) is either–

(i) nominated by a political party; or
(ii) an independent candidate supported by at least five hundred registered voters in the ward concerned.

(2) A person is disqualified from being elected a member of a county assembly if the person–

- Advertisement -

(a) is a State officer or other public officer, other than a member of the county assembly;
(b) has, at any time within the five years immediately before the date of election, held office as a member of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission;
(c) has not been a citizen of Kenya for at least the ten years immediately preceding the date of election;
(d) is of unsound mind;
(e) is an undischarged bankrupt;
(f) is serving a sentence of imprisonment of at least six months; or
(g) has been found, in accordance with any law, to have misused or abused a State office or public office or to have contravened Chapter Six.

(3) A person is not disqualified under clause (2) unless all possibility of appeal or review of the relevant sentence or decision has been exhausted.

Here is a List of Elected MCAs in Nyeri County for the 2017 General Elections

466. Dedan Kimathi – Gibson Kuria Wahinya (JP)
467. Wamagana – Sabastian Mugo Theuri (JP)
468. Aguthi Gaaki – Stanley Ngaru Wakiba (JP)

469. Mweiga – Njuguna Wanjiku Kawanjiku (Party of National Unity (PNU))

470. Naromoru Kiamathaga – Kamau Martin Matu (JP)
471. Mwiyogo Endarasha – Wachira Michael Karumba (JP)
472. Mugunda – Maina Joseph Ndiritu (JP)
473. Gatarakwa – Clement Warutere Ndegwa (JP)
474. Thegu River – Kamuhia Richard Karue (independent)
475. Kabaru – Njiiri Joseph Wanjira (JP)
476. Gakawa – Amos Njogu Kanyai (JP)

477. Ruguru – Erastus Karanja Muriuki (JP) [Peter Kinyua Weru (JP)] *
478. Magutu – Pauline Wanjira Maina (PNU)
479. Iriaini – David Mwangi Muthiri Kabatha (JP)
480. Konyu – Eric Mwangi Kahugu (JP)
481. Kirimukuyu – Anthony Muriithi Maina Ndagita (JP)
482. Karatina Town – Watson Mburungo Weru (JP)

483. Mahiga – James Kanyugo Mwangi (JP)
484. Iria-Ini – John Gachau Theuri (JP)
485. Chinga – Meshack Kiruga Thuku (JP)
486. Karima – Reuben Wahome Kabera (JP)

487. Gikondi – Mary Wamuyu Wamui (JP)
488. Rugi – Cyrus Ngure Kagwi (JP)
489. Mukurwe-Ini West – Atanasio Gichohi Kabaire (JP)
490. Mukurwe-Ini Central – Keneth Gatheru Gatiithi (JP)

Nyeri Town
491. Kiganjo Mathari – Margaret Muthoni Kuruga (JP)
492. Rware – Paul Gachuhi Kanyari (JP)
493. Gatitu Muruguru – Symon Muturi Muthee (JP)
494. Ruring’u – Samuel Kariuki Gichuki (JP)
495. Kamakwa Mukaro – John Ndumia Mwangi (JP)

- Advertisement -

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Must Read