Central Bank of the Republic of Guinea

The Central Bank of the Republic of Guinea (FrenchBanque Centrale de la République de GuinéeBCRGN’Ko: ߖߌ߬ߣߍ߫ ߞߊ߲ߓߍ߲ ߕߊ߲ߓߊ߲ ߜߍߓߏ߲) is the central bank of Guinea. The headquarters of the bank is located in the capital city of Conakry. The current governor is Dr Karamo Kaba.



The bank was established on 1 March 1960. Ousmane Baldé was president of the bank in the 1960s before his execution in 1971. In 1972 President Touré took over governorship of the Bank, formally attaching it to the Presidency.


NameTook officeLeft officeNotes
Moussa Diakité19601963
Ousmane Baldé19631964
Moussa Diakité19641968
Lamine Conde?-19691981-?
Kabiné Kaba1984?
Aboubacar Kagbè Touré?-19851985-?
Kerfalla Yansané19861996
Ibrahima Chérif Bah19962004
Alkaly Mohammed Daffé20042007
Daouda Bangoura20072009
Alhassane Barry20092010
Louncény Nabé20102021
Karamo Kaba2021


The Bank is active in promoting financial inclusion policy and is a leading member of the Alliance for Financial Inclusion. It is also one of the original 17 regulatory institutions to make specific national commitments to financial inclusion under the Maya Declaration[9] during the 2011 Global Policy Forum held in Mexico.

Related articles

Banque du Liban

Banque du Liban (Arabic: مصرف لبنان; English: Bank of Lebanon) is the central...

Central Bank of Kuwait

The Central Bank of Kuwait (CBK; Arabic: بنك الكويت المركزي) is the central bank of Kuwait. It...

Central Bank of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

The Central Bank of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea is North...

Bank of Korea

The Bank of Korea (BOK; Korean: 한국은행; Hanja: 韓國銀行; RR: Hanguk Eunhaeng) is the central bank of the Republic of...

National Bank of the Kyrgyz Republic

The National Bank of the Kyrgyz Republic (Kyrgyz: Кыргыз Республикасынын Улуттук Банкы, romanized: Kyrgyz...