Central Bank of Libya

The Central Bank of Libya (CBL) is the monetary authority in Libya. It has the status of an autonomous corporate body. The law establishing the CBL stipulates that the objectives of the central bank shall be to maintain monetary stability in Libya and to promote the sustained growth of the economy in accordance with the general economic policy of the state.

The headquarters of the Central Bank are in Tripoli. However, to make the CBL services more accessible to commercial banks, branches and public departments located far from the headquarters. The CBL has three branches, located in BenghaziSabha and Sirte.

Websitecbl.gov.ly Tripoli, Libya
centralbankoflibya.org Al-Bayda


The CBL was founded in 1955 under Act no. 30 (1955) started its operations on 1 April 1956 under the name of National Bank of Libya, to replace the Libyan Currency committee which was established by the United Nations and other supervising countries in 1951 to ensure the well-being of the weak and poor Libyan economy.

The bank was established in the former Savings Bank building (ItalianCassa di Risparmio della Tripolitania), designed in 1921 by Armando Brasini and completed in the early 1930s

The Bank’s name was changed to Bank of Libya under Act no. 4 (1963), then to its current name Central Bank of Libya after the 1969 coup d’état.

In March 2011, the governor of CBL, Farhat Bengdara, resigned and defected to the rebelling side of the Libyan Civil War, having first arranged for the bulk of external Libyan assets to be frozen and unavailable to the Gaddafi government.

On 6 December 2021, Tripoli-based Governor of the CBL Saddek Elkaber met with Bayda-based CBL governor, Ali Al-Hibri, who before the split had been Elkaber’s Deputy Governor, in Tunisia and agreed to start unification of the CBL. On 20 January 2022, Elkaber and Al-Hibri signed an agreement on a four-stage unification plan, with the appointment of Deloitte to oversee the process. On 20 August 2023, the bank officially announced the completion of its reunification under Elkaber and his deputy in the east, Maree Raheel.


This is list governors of The Central Bank of Libya since its establishment. |29 2018 The Bank endured twice an administration split, first during the first civil war, (February–August 2011), then from September 2014 on, as a result of the ongoing civil war.

Nametenure starttenure endNotes
Ali Aneizi26 April 195526 March 1961
Khalil Bennani27 March 19611 September 1969
Kassem Sherlala20 September 196917 January 1981
Rajab El Msallati18 January 19813 March 1986
Muhammad az-Zaruq Rajab4 January 19876 October 1990
Abd-al-Hafid Mahmud al-Zulaytini7 October 199013 February 1996
Taher Al-Jehaimi14 February 199622 March 2001
Ahmed Menesi23 March 20015 March 2006
Farhat Bengdara6 March 20066 March 2011
Abd-al-Hafid Mahmud al-Zulaytini6 March 20112 April 2011acting
Muhammad az-Zaruq Rajab2 April 2011August 2011
Ahmed S. El SharifFebruary 2011April 2011for NTC (in Benghazi)
Kassem AzzuzApril 201112 October 2011for NTC (in Benghazi to Aug. 2011)
Saddek Elkaber12 October 2011for GNC, later PC since Sep. 2014

Related articles

Banque du Liban

Banque du Liban (Arabic: مصرف لبنان; English: Bank of Lebanon) is the central...

Central Bank of Kuwait

The Central Bank of Kuwait (CBK; Arabic: بنك الكويت المركزي) is the central bank of Kuwait. It...

Central Bank of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

The Central Bank of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea is North...

Bank of Korea

The Bank of Korea (BOK; Korean: 한국은행; Hanja: 韓國銀行; RR: Hanguk Eunhaeng) is the central bank of the Republic of...

National Bank of the Kyrgyz Republic

The National Bank of the Kyrgyz Republic (Kyrgyz: Кыргыз Республикасынын Улуттук Банкы, romanized: Kyrgyz...