Central Bank of Egypt

The Central Bank of Egypt (CBEArabic: البنك المركزي المصري) is the central bank and monetary authority of the Arab Republic of Egypt.



Since the trading of gold and silver coins in Egypt and until 1834, there was no one unit of currency to unify the country. In 1834, a decree was realised stating the forging of an Egyptian currency based on the two metals (gold and silver). In accordance with said decree, the minting of a currency in the shape of gold and silver Riyals began. In 1836, the Egyptian pound was first introduced and it became open for public use.

The bank floated the Egyptian pound during the morning of the 13th of November 2016.


Its functions include

List of governors

Following is a list of the Governors of the Central Bank of Egypt

NameTook officeLeft office
Sir Elwin PalmerAugust 1898January 1906
Sir Frederick RowlattJune 1906February 1921
Sir Bertram HornsbyMarch 1921February 1931
Sir Edward CookMarch 1931October 1940
Sir Norman NixonOctober 1940April 1946
Sir Frederick Leith-RossMay 1946April 1951
Ahmed Zaki SaadMay 1951April 1952
Mohamed FekryMay 1952March 1955
Ahmed Zaki SaadMarch 1956July 1957
Abd El-Gelil El EmaryNovember 1957March 1960
Abd El-Hakim El RefaieMarch 1960March 1964
Ahmed ZendoMarch 1964February 1967
Ahmed NazmyFebruary 1967January 1971
Ahmed ZendoFebruary 1971March 1976
Mohamed Abd El Fatah IbrahimMarch 1976January 1982
Mohamed ShalabyFebruary 1982March 1985
Ali NegmMarch 1985November 1986
Mahmoud HamedNovember 1986October 1993
Ismail Hassan MohamedOctober 1993October 2001
Mohamed Abul EyounOctober 2001November 2003
Farouk El-OkdahDecember 2003February 2013
Hisham RamezFebruary 2013November 2015
Tarek Hassan AmerNovember 2015August 2022
Hassan AbdallaAugust 2022Present

Related articles

Banque du Liban

Banque du Liban (Arabic: مصرف لبنان; English: Bank of Lebanon) is the central...

Central Bank of Kuwait

The Central Bank of Kuwait (CBK; Arabic: بنك الكويت المركزي) is the central bank of Kuwait. It...

Central Bank of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

The Central Bank of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea is North...

Bank of Korea

The Bank of Korea (BOK; Korean: 한국은행; Hanja: 韓國銀行; RR: Hanguk Eunhaeng) is the central bank of the Republic of...

National Bank of the Kyrgyz Republic

The National Bank of the Kyrgyz Republic (Kyrgyz: Кыргыз Республикасынын Улуттук Банкы, romanized: Kyrgyz...
Previous article
Next article