National Bank of Rwanda

The National Bank of Rwanda (KinyarwandaBanki Nkuru Y’u RwandaFrenchBanque Nationale du Rwanda) is the central bank of Rwanda. The bank was founded in 1964. The current governor of the bank is John Rwangombwa.


It is quartered at the National Bank of Rwanda Building, on KN6 Avenue in the central business district of Kigali, the capital and largest city in Rwanda. The coordinates of the bank’s headquarters are 01°56’56.0″S, 30°03’49.0″E (Latitude:-1.948889; Longitude:30.063611).


The Bank is active in promoting financial inclusion policy and is a leading member of the Alliance for Financial Inclusion. It is also one of the original 17 regulatory institutions to make specific national commitments to financial inclusion under the Maya Declaration during the 2011 Global Policy Forum held in Mexico.


Governors of the National Bank of Rwanda


The central bank, whose name is abbreviated to “BNR“, evolved step by step:

Related articles

Banque du Liban

Banque du Liban (Arabic: مصرف لبنان; English: Bank of Lebanon) is the central...

Central Bank of Kuwait

The Central Bank of Kuwait (CBK; Arabic: بنك الكويت المركزي) is the central bank of Kuwait. It...

Central Bank of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

The Central Bank of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea is North...

Bank of Korea

The Bank of Korea (BOK; Korean: 한국은행; Hanja: 韓國銀行; RR: Hanguk Eunhaeng) is the central bank of the Republic of...

National Bank of the Kyrgyz Republic

The National Bank of the Kyrgyz Republic (Kyrgyz: Кыргыз Республикасынын Улуттук Банкы, romanized: Kyrgyz...